Vallejo Symphony Concert II, ‘Noon’

Haydn Symphony No. 7 in C major, ‘Noon’
Shostakovich Cello Concerto No. 1 in E-flat major
Featuring Zlatomir Fung
2014 Klein International String Competition Winner
Beethoven Symphony No. 3 in E-flat major, ‘Eroica’
Marc Taddei, conductor

The bustle of midday is captured by Haydn’s Symphony No. 7, Noon, which offers virtuoso turns to all instruments, especially strings and horns. Shostakovich’s Cello Concerto No. 1, with its complex syncopations and gorgeous melodies, is one of the most challenging pieces ever written for the instrument. Joining VSO to play this energetic work is Zlatomir Fung, winner of the 2014 Klein International String Competition. Last, which symphony single-handedly revolutionized classical music and ushered in Romanticism? Beethoven’s Symphony No. 3, the Eroica. An audience favorite returns!

Zlatomir Fung won the gold medals at the 2015 Johansen Competition, the 2014 Stulberg String Competition and the 29th Irving Klein Competition. He placed second in the cello division of the 20th International Brahms Competition in Portschach, Austria in 2013, and in 2012 was the silver medal winner of the cello division of the Seventh International Tchaikovsky Competition for Young Musicians in Montreux-Vevey, Switzerland. He has appeared on NPR’s ‘From the Top’ four times, as well as ‘Performance Today.’

Loading Map....

Date(s) - Sun, Jan 29, 2017
3:00 pm

Hogan Auditorium
850 Rosewood Avenue, Vallejo

Upcoming events at this location

  • No events scheduled at this time. Please check back later.
  • Categories

    Tags Classical

    Bookmark the permalink.

    Comments are closed

    • We do our best to keep event listings current, but sometimes they are rescheduled or cancelled after being posted here. Please confirm with the venue when making your plans.