Vallejo Symphony Concert I

Haydn Symphony No. 6 in D major, ‘Morning’
Prokofiev Piano Concerto No. 3 in C major
Featuring Sara Davis Buechner
Sibelius Symphony No. 5 in E-flat major
Marc Taddei, conductor

We begin our season with a sunrise! Haydn’s exquisite Symphony No. 6subtitled Morning opens Vallejo Symphony’s 85th season with a virtuosic showpiece for all sections of the orchestra. Next, celebrated pianist Sara Davis Buechner performs Prokofiev’s upbeat, witty Piano Concerto No. 3, deservedly one of his most popular works. To end the concert, VSO presents Sibelius Symphony No. 5, a majestic work by a composer at the height of his powers.

Pianist Sara Davis Buechner has been praised on four continents for “…her intelligence, integrity and all-encompassing technical prowess…”(New York Times),”… fascinating and astounding virtuosity…” (Philippine Star), “…and thoughtful artistry in the full service of music…” (Washington Post). “Buechner has no superior,” says Japan’s In Tune magazine.

Loading Map....

Date(s) - Sun, Oct 30, 2016
3:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Hogan Auditorium
850 Rosewood Avenue, Vallejo

Upcoming events at this location

  • No events scheduled at this time. Please check back later.
  • Categories

    Tags Classical

    About Event Form

    This account is used by Events Manager for anonymous event submission
    Bookmark the permalink.

    Comments are closed

    • We do our best to keep event listings current, but sometimes they are rescheduled or cancelled after being posted here. Please confirm with the venue when making your plans.