Vallejo’s 29th Annual Juneteenth Celebration

For more information and vendor applications see vallejojuneteenth.com

Juneteenth, also known as Freedom Day and Emancipation Day, is a holiday or observance in many US states to celebrate the anniversary of the abolition of slavery in Texas on June 19, 1865. The observance commemorates the day on which Union soldiers enforced the Emancipation Proclamation and freed all remaining slaves in Texas on June 19, 1865. A range of public, community and private events are held to celebrate Juneteenth, often on a weekend close to June 19.This day is an opportunity for people to celebrate freedom and equal rights in the United States.

Background
Slavery in the United States can be traced back to the 16th century when Spanish explorers brought African slaves with them to the New World. It lasted until the Emancipation Proclamation came into effect on January 1, 1863. On that date Texas was largely controlled by forces fighting for the Confederate States, which opposed the abolition of slavery. On June 19, 1865, Union soldiers arrived to take control of Texas and enforce the emancipation of slaves in the state. In Galveston, Texas, the newly freed slaves held large public celebrations and so laid the base for future Juneteenth activities. The word ‘Juneteenth’ resulted from the words ‘June Nineteenth’ being slurred together in speech.

After 1865, Juneteenth was mainly celebrated in Texas. Parks have been established on land bought by former slaves to hold Juneteenth celebrations in the Texan cities of Austin, Houston and Mexia. However, it is now a state holiday or observance in more than half of the US states and there is a campaign for Juneteenth to become a national holiday or observance throughout the nation.  Juneteenth celebrations are also held in other countries around the world, including Ghana, Honduras, Japan, Taiwan and Trinidad and Tobago.


Loading Map....

Date/Time
Date(s) - Sat, Jun 17, 2017
11:00 am - 4:00 pm

Location
City Park
425 Alabama St, Vallejo

Upcoming events at this location

  • Tai Chi - Wed, Jun 28, 2017 - 8:00 am
  • Tai Chi - Wed, Jul 5, 2017 - 8:00 am
  • Tai Chi - Wed, Jul 12, 2017 - 8:00 am
  • Tai Chi - Wed, Jul 19, 2017 - 8:00 am
  • Tai Chi - Wed, Jul 26, 2017 - 8:00 am
  • Tai Chi - Wed, Aug 2, 2017 - 8:00 am
  • Tai Chi - Wed, Aug 9, 2017 - 8:00 am
  • Tai Chi - Wed, Aug 16, 2017 - 8:00 am
  • Tai Chi - Wed, Aug 23, 2017 - 8:00 am
  • Tai Chi - Wed, Aug 30, 2017 - 8:00 am
  • Tai Chi - Wed, Sep 6, 2017 - 8:00 am
  • Tai Chi - Wed, Sep 13, 2017 - 8:00 am
  • Tai Chi - Wed, Sep 20, 2017 - 8:00 am
  • Tai Chi - Wed, Sep 27, 2017 - 8:00 am
  • Tai Chi - Wed, Oct 4, 2017 - 8:00 am
  • Tai Chi - Wed, Oct 11, 2017 - 8:00 am
  • Tai Chi - Wed, Oct 18, 2017 - 8:00 am
  • Tai Chi - Wed, Oct 25, 2017 - 8:00 am
  • Tai Chi - Wed, Nov 1, 2017 - 8:00 am
  • Tai Chi - Wed, Nov 8, 2017 - 8:00 am
1 2

Categories

Tags

Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed

  • We do our best to keep event listings current, but sometimes they are rescheduled or cancelled after being posted here. Please confirm with the venue when making your plans.